Connect with Us:                            Contact   |   Home

Work at DU   |   Find a Program   |   Make a Gift   |   Support Us
News & Events…
Philosophical Debate
2019, Jan 20

The National Association of Philosophy Students (NAPS) Dominican University chapter held her Inauguration ceremony on the 8th of January 2019 at Tom and Caroline Walker Hall. The epoch making event was staged along with the taking of oath of office of the association`s pioneer executives.

The event featured a philosophical debate between the University and Philosophy students of SS Peter and Paul Major Seminary, Bodija, Ibadan. The topic of the debate was, “Artificial Intelligence is Necessary for the Future Human Existence.” The pioneering debate was anchored by Mr Augustine Farinola with Rev. Fr. Dr. Anselm Jimoh HOD Philosophy Department of Ss. Peter and Paul Major seminary Ibadan, Dr. Mrs. Victoria Akoleowo HOD Dominican Institute Ibadan, and Rev. Jude Ibe OP.  Thus the debaters from Dominican University are; Bro. Nwakamma, Christian OP, Dominican. Phil 4. Bro. Nwamadi, Charles. SSJ., Phil. 4. and Bro. Ebube, Stephen. Order of Franciscan, Phil 2. While the other contestant from Sts. Peter and Paul are; Umuenyen, Gabriel Phil 4, Atadoga, John Phil 4 and Umoru Callistus phil 3.

After each contestant presentations and defense on the above topic, one of the Adjudicator Rev. Fr Dr. Anselm Jimoh make some salient clarification about the debates and debaters, on the important and use of philosophical terms, need for clarification of terms and the use of fallacy like argumentum ad hominem that in a philosophical debate it is not necessary. Thus he urges all the presenters likewise those present to desist from such argument or debate. He went further to announce the winner of the debate.  

After the debate, the inauguration and oath of office of the new officials of NAPS Dominican University Chapter was done and the names and post of the officers are;

  • President chrysogonus Okwena
  • Vice president Solomon kwazu
  • General secretary Abuh Josuha
  • Assistant secretary Amponsah Emmanuel
  • Financial secretary Monday grace
  • Director for intellectuals Ebuka Stephen
  • Director of socials Bartholemew
  • Director of sport Ezeh Patrick
  • Public relation officer George Ejeh
  • Treasurer Ugbor Oliver


See Other News & Events »